ICYMI: Senator Sanders Endorses Ilhan Omar

Sen. Bernie Sanders on Thursday issued the following statement endorsing Rep. Ilhan Omar (D-Minn.) for reelection: 

“I’m very pleased to endorse my good friend, Ilhan Omar, for reelection to the United States Congress,” Senator Sanders said. 

“In the Congress today, there are a handful of true progressives – people who understand that their function is to stand up for working families, work to guarantee health care for all, ensure that nobody in this country goes hungry, and take on the greed of the fossil fuel industry. Ilhan Omar is one of those people. She is fighting for economic, racial, and environmental justice. 

“All the while, Ilhan has been subjected to more vile and racist attacks than any other member of Congress. But she’s responded with the kind of dignity that should make the people of her district proud.

“Ilhan Omar is a woman of incredible strength. We need her leadership. We need her voice speaking out for justice. I hope the people of Minnesota will rally around her and send her back to Congress.”

About Ilhan Omar: In 2018, Ilhan was elected to Congress representing the Fifth Congressional District of Minnesota, and was endorsed by the Democratic Farmer Labor Party (DFL) once again in 2020. In her first year in office, she successfully passed 16 bills and amendments through the U.S. House of Representatives. Ilhan introduced the Student Debt Cancellation Act to end the student debt crisis, Homes for All legislation to end the homelessness crisis, and legislation to tackle child hunger by making school meals universal. She also co-sponsored the No Ban Act to combat Donald Trump’s xenophobic Muslim Ban, successfully pushed to extend DED status for the Liberian community in Minnesota, and introduced a War Powers Resolution to prevent war with Iran. 

She is Vice Chair of the Medicare for All Caucus, Whip for the Congressional Progressive Caucus, and Midwest Regional Whip for the Democratic Caucus. Ilhan has consistently worked to show that the American Dream is for everyone. This year she was awarded the Profile in Courage Award from the Town Project for her consistent engagement with constituents, even in the face of threats to her safety.


Minnesota Attorney General

Keith Ellison

Speaker of the House

Nancy Pelosi

Speaker of the Minnesota House

Melissa Hortman


Bernie Sanders (VT)

Members of Congress

Karen Bass (CA-37)

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (NY-14)

Barbara Lee (CA-13)

Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC)

Ayanna Pressley (MA-7)

Rashida Tlaib (MI-13)

State Senators

Kari Dziedzic (60)

Carolyn Laine (41)

Patricia Torres Ray (63)

State Reps

Connie Bernardy (41A)

Jim Davnie (63A)

Ray Dehn (59B)

Mike Freiberg (45B)

Aisha Gomez (62B)

Hodan Hassan (62A)

Mike Howard (50A)

Sydney Jordan (60A)

Erin Koegel (37A)

Mary Kunesh-Podein (41B)

Fue Lee (59A)

Jamie Long (61B)

Mohamud Noor (60B)

Samantha Vang (40B)

Hennepin County Commissioners

Angela Conley (District 4)

Irene Fernando (District 2)

Marion Greene, Board Chair (District 3)

Minneapolis City Council

Lisa Bender, Council President (Ward 10)

Alondra Cano (Ward 9)

Phillipe Cunningham (Ward 4)

Jeremiah Ellison (Ward 5)

Steve Fletcher (Ward 3)

Andrea Jenkins (Ward 8)

Andrew Johnson (Ward 12)

Jeremy Schroeder (Ward 11)

Minneapolis Park Board

Brad Bourn (District 6)

Jono Cowgill, Board President (District 4)

Chris Meyer (District 1)

Londel French (At Large)

Kale Severson (District 2)

Minneapolis Board of Education

Jenny Arneson (District 1)

Kimberly Caprini (At Large)

Nelson Inz (District 5)

Josh Pauly (At Large)

Richfield Mayor

Maria Regan Gonzalez

Richfield City Council 

Simon Trautmann (Ward 1)

Ben Whalen (Ward 3)

St. Louis Park City Council

Tim Brausen (Ward 4)

Anne Mavity (Ward 2)

Nadia Mohamed (At Large)

Crystal City Council 

John Budziszewski (Ward 3)

New Hope City Council

Cedrick Frazier



Stonewall DFL


350 Action

United We Dream Action Fund

Planned Parenthood Action Fund

Peace Action

Working Families Party

End Citizens United

Justice Democrats

National Nurses United

Common Defense

Jewish Voice for Peace Action

National Organization for Women

Democracy for America



Equality PAC

Congressional Back Caucus PAC

Education Minnesota

American Federation of Teachers

National Educators Association

Service Employees International Union (SEIU) Minnesota State Council

MN 350 Action

Teamsters Local 120

Sierra Club

People’s Action

AFSCME Council 5