Ilhan Omar Earns SEIU, Teamsters, Sierra Club, Teamsters Local 120, MN 350 Action Endorsements

MINNEAPOLIS—Rep. Ilhan Omar (MN-05) announced endorsements from the Service Employees International Union (SEIU) Minnesota State Council, MN 350 Action, the Teamsters Local 120, and the Sierra Club. Rep. Omar now has organizational endorsements to over two dozen organizations from across the district and country and over three dozen public officials.  

“As a Minnesota organizer, advocate and legislator, I have been fighting for decades to organize on behalf of working people and against those who want to maintain the status quo. These endorsements from leading unions and environmental organizations are an affirmation of our ability to build coalitions that seek to address our persistent problems.’

 Rep. Omar said.

“I will continue to fight for the rights of all workers to earn a decent and living wage. Especially in the face of a national public health and economic crisis, it is more important than ever that we fight on the side of workers, not corporate donors. The climate crisis is the greatest threat we as Minnesotans and as a country face, and I will continue to center for voices of marginalized people in our fight for bold solutions like a Green New Deal and an end to the waste crisis. Doing the work on behalf of marginalized people who have been left out of the conversation isn’t divisive; it’s courageous.” 

You can view a full list of endorsements below.

About Ilhan Omar: In 2018, Ilhan was elected to Congress representing the Fifth Congressional District of Minnesota, and was endorsed by the Democratic Farmer Labor Party (DFL) for once again in 2020. In her first year in office, she successfully passed 16 bills and amendments through the U.S. House of Representatives. Ilhan introduced the Student Debt Cancellation Act to end the student debt crisis, Homes for All legislation to end the homelessness crisis, and legislation to tackle child hunger by making school meals universal. She also co-sponsored the No Ban Act to combat Donald Trump’s xenophobic Muslim Ban, successfully pushed to extend DED status for the Liberian community in Minnesota, and introduced a War Powers Resolution to prevent war with Iran. 

She is Vice Chair of the Medicare for All Caucus, Whip for the Congressional Progressive Caucus, and Midwest Regional Whip for the Democratic Caucus. Ilhan has consistently worked to show that the American Dream is for everyone. This YEAR, she was awarded the Profile in Courage Award from the Town Project for her consistent engagement with constituents, even in the face of threats to her safety.

Elected Officials

Attorney General Keith Ellison

Connie Bernardy

Jim Davnie

Ray Dehn

Mike Freiberg

Aisha Gomez

Hodan Hassan

Mike Howard

Mary Kunesh-Podein

Fue Lee

Jamie Long

Mohamud Noor

Patricia Torres Ray

Alondra Cano

Jeremiah Ellison

Andrea Jenkins

Andrew Johnson

Angela Conley

Irene Fernando

Board Chair Marion Greene

Kari Dziedzic

Carolyn Laine

Council President Lisa Bender

Jeremy Schroeder

Brad Bourn

Chris Meyer

Londel French

Kale Severson

Nelson Inz

Jenny Arneson

Josh Pauly

John Budziszewski

Cedrick Frazier

Simon Trautmann

Ben Whalen

Nadia Mohamed

Anne Mavity

Rep. Ayanna Pressley

Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton

Rep. Karen Bass

Rep. Barbara Lee



Stonewall DFL


350 Action

United We Dream Action Fund

Planned Parenthood Action Fund

Peace Action

Working Families Party

End Citizens United

Justice Democrats

National Nurses United

Common Defense

Jewish Voice for Peace Action

National Organization for Women

Democracy for America



Equality PAC

Congressional Back Caucus PAC

Education Minnesota

American Federation of Teachers

National Educators Association

Service Employees International Union (SEIU) Minnesota State Council

MN 350 Action

Teamsters Local 120

Sierra Club