New Polling Shows Massive Lead for Rep. Omar in Reelection Race

Poll Comes in Wake of Unprecedented Spending By Republican and Corporate Donors in 5th District Primary

MINNEAPOLIS—Rep. Ilhan Omar’s (MN-05) campaign released new approval ratings and head-to-head polling numbers after recent reports that millions of dollars from corporate and Republican donors has been raised and spent by her primary challengers. On behalf of Ilhan for Congress, Change Research surveyed likely DFL primary voters in Minnesota’s Fifth Congressional District, finding broad support for Rep. Ilhan Omar and her policy priorities, indicating that she is in a strong position to fend off any challengers heading into the August primary election.

The poll comes in the wake of major endorsements from Senator Bernie Sanders, House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, Minnesota House Speaker Melissa Hortman, and a dozen other local officials.  

“The new data show that Rep. Ilhan Omar has the overwhelming support of the 5th District,” said Alex Chen, Survey Data Analyst at Change Research.“74% of voters here approve of her job performance and she has 70% percent favorability in her district. The survey also shows Rep. Omar with a 37-point lead over her closest challenger, with the vast majority of her supporters saying that they’re certain they’ll vote for her. After voters read attacks that have been levelled against the Congresswoman by both her opponent and outside groups as well as doubts people have about her opponent, her support widens to 69%—43 points higher than any of the men challenging her.”

“Rep. Omar is the only progressive in this race,” said Democratic Farmer Labor Party (DFL) Chair Ken Martin. “And she’s running for reelection in one of the most progressive Congressional Districts in the country. She’s spent her entire political career fighting for the structural change our country and our District need to dismantle systems of oppression in the economy, education, healthcare, and the environment – and she’s done it while fighting right beside the people of the 5th District. They know her. They trust her. That’s why the overwhelming majority of them approve of her job performance, and that’s why she leads by almost 40 points despite the millions of dollars being spent to unseat her.”

You can read the full polling memo here.

About Ilhan Omar: In 2018, Ilhan was elected to Congress representing the Fifth Congressional District of Minnesota, and was endorsed by the Democratic Farmer Labor Party (DFL) once again in 2020. In her first year in office, she successfully passed 16 bills and amendments through the U.S. House of Representatives. Ilhan introduced the Student Debt Cancellation Act to end the student debt crisis, Homes for All legislation to end the homelessness crisis, and legislation to tackle child hunger by making school meals universal. She also co-sponsored the No Ban Act to combat Donald Trump’s xenophobic Muslim Ban, successfully pushed to extend DED status for the Liberian community in Minnesota, and introduced a War Powers Resolution to prevent war with Iran. 

She is Vice Chair of the Medicare for All Caucus, Whip for the Congressional Progressive Caucus, and Midwest Regional Whip for the Democratic Caucus. Ilhan has consistently worked to show that the American Dream is for everyone. This year she was awarded the Profile in Courage Award from the Town Project for her consistent engagement with constituents, even in the face of threats to her safety.


Minnesota Attorney General

Keith Ellison

Speaker of the House

Nancy Pelosi

Speaker of the Minnesota House

Melissa Hortman


Bernie Sanders (VT)

Members of Congress

Karen Bass (CA-37)

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (NY-14)

Barbara Lee (CA-13)

Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC)

Ayanna Pressley (MA-7)

Rashida Tlaib (MI-13)

State Senators

Kari Dziedzic (60)

Carolyn Laine (41)

Patricia Torres Ray (63)

State Reps

Connie Bernardy (41A)

Jim Davnie (63A)

Ray Dehn (59B)

Mike Freiberg (45B)

Aisha Gomez (62B)

Hodan Hassan (62A)

Mike Howard (50A)

Sydney Jordan (60A)

Erin Koegel (37A)

Mary Kunesh-Podein (41B)

Fue Lee (59A)

Jamie Long (61B)

Mohamud Noor (60B)

Samantha Vang (40B)

Hennepin County Commissioners

Angela Conley (District 4)

Irene Fernando (District 2)

Marion Greene, Board Chair (District 3)

Minneapolis City Council

Lisa Bender, Council President (Ward 10)

Alondra Cano (Ward 9)

Phillipe Cunningham (Ward 4)

Jeremiah Ellison (Ward 5)

Steve Fletcher (Ward 3)

Andrea Jenkins (Ward 8)

Andrew Johnson (Ward 12)

Jeremy Schroeder (Ward 11)

Minneapolis Park Board

Brad Bourn (District 6)

Jono Cowgill, Board President (District 4)

Chris Meyer (District 1)

Londel French (At Large)

Kale Severson (District 2)

Minneapolis Board of Education

Jenny Arneson (District 1)

Kimberly Caprini (At Large)

Nelson Inz (District 5)

Josh Pauly (At Large)

Richfield Mayor

Maria Regan Gonzalez

Richfield City Council 

Simon Trautmann (Ward 1)

Ben Whalen (Ward 3)

St. Louis Park City Council

Tim Brausen (Ward 4)

Anne Mavity (Ward 2)

Nadia Mohamed (At Large)

Crystal City Council 

John Budziszewski (Ward 3)

New Hope City Council

Cedrick Frazier



Stonewall DFL


350 Action

United We Dream Action Fund

Planned Parenthood Action Fund

Peace Action

Working Families Party

End Citizens United

Justice Democrats

National Nurses United

Common Defense

Jewish Voice for Peace Action

National Organization for Women

Democracy for America



Equality PAC

Congressional Back Caucus PAC

Education Minnesota

American Federation of Teachers

National Educators Association

Service Employees International Union (SEIU) Minnesota State Council

MN 350 Action

Teamsters Local 120

Sierra Club

People’s Action

AFSCME Council 5