Rep. Ilhan Omar Announces Dozens of Endorsements Ahead of DFL Caucuses

Posted by: Rep. Ilhan Omar | February 26, 2024

MINNEAPOLIS—Rep. Ilhan Omar (D-MN) today announced endorsements ahead of the 2024 DFL Precinct Caucuses. The endorsements include Speaker Melissa Hortman and 14 Minnesota State Representatives from the Fifth District, four Minnesota State Senators from the Fifth District, Hennepin County Commissioners Irene Fernando, Marion Greene, and Angela Conley, Minneapolis Council President Elliott Payne and eight other members of the Minneapolis City Council, and eight City Council Members from Fifth District suburbs. She previously announced the endorsement of every leader of the U.S. House Democratic Caucus in August 2023.

“I am honored to have the support of the people who represent my district at all levels of government, as well as the Democratic leaders in the U.S. House I work with every day in the Capitol.” Rep. Omar said. “Throughout my time in Congress, I have been driven by a commitment to co-governance. Our state, county, and local officials are on the frontlines of democracy and good governance, and I am proud to work with them to invest in public infrastructure, transition to a green economy, expand opportunities for affordable housing, create a just immigration system, and protect our civil rights. These partners rely on the collaborative relationships I have built in Washington to advance our shared priorities locally.”

“When I worked with Ilhan in the Minnesota legislature, she was a tireless advocate for her constituents, and an unshakable progressive voice on the Floor,” Minnesota House Speaker Melissa Hortman said. “Ilhan was a leader on fighting for reproductive rights, addressing the climate crisis, confronting gun violence, and delivering for her district. Nothing has changed. She was a leader then, and she’s a leader now. We need voices like hers in Washington. I’m proud to endorse her for reelection.”

“Congresswoman Omar is a champion for environmental justice and climate action,” Minnesota House Majority Leader Jamie Long said. “Her leadership in the Congressional Progressive Caucus helped pass the largest climate action package in world history. The Fifth District deserves someone who fights for us – and for future generations – in Washington, and that person is Congresswoman Omar. I am proud to endorse her for re-election.”

“I am honored to lend my voice in support of Congresswoman Ilhan Omar for re-election to represent our district,” Hennepin County Board Chair Irene Fernando said. “In the time that I have had the privilege to work alongside her, I have witnessed firsthand her unwavering commitment to advancing equity, ensuring safety, and promoting the vibrancy of our community.”

“In Ward 1, my neighbors and I are working to build a Minneapolis where everyone belongs, everyone is safe, and we all have what we need to live in dignity,” Minneapolis City Council President Elliott Payne said. “So many of our most pressing local issues are impacted by national politics — whether it’s ensuring safe and stable housing for all our neighbors or working to combat climate change. That’s why it’s so important that we have a congressperson who represents our progressive Minneapolis values. Representative Omar shares our commitment to the belonging, safety, and dignity of all of us and that’s why I’m proud to endorse her for re-election.”

You can find a full list of endorsements below.

State Representatives

Speaker Melissa Hortman

Majority Leader Jamie Long

Esther Agbaje

Sandra Feist

Cedrick Frazier

Aisha Gomez

Emma Greenman

Hodan Hassan

Mike Howard

Sydney Jordan

Erin Koegel

Fue Lee

Mohamud Noor

Samantha Sencer-Mura

Samantha Vang

State Senators

Omar Fateh

Mary Kunesh

Zaynab Mohamed

Melissa Wiklund

Hennepin County Commissioners

Board Chair Irene Fernando

Angela Conley

Marion Greene

Minneapolis City Council Members

Council President Elliott Payne

Katie Cashman

Jason Chavez

Aurin Chowdhury

Aisha Chughtai

Jeremiah Ellison

Andrea Jenkins

Jamal Osman

Robin Wonsley

Council Members

John Budziszewski, Crystal

Marquita Butler, Brooklyn Center

David Cummings, Crystal

Yolanda Farris, St. Louis Park

Sophia Ginis, Golden Valley

Simon Trautmann, Richfield

Aaron Wagner, Robbinsdale

House Democratic Leaders

Democratic Leader Hakeem Jeffries

Democratic Whip Katherine Clark

Democratic Caucus Chair Pete Aguilar

Assistant Leader James E. Clyburn

Speaker Emerita Nancy Pelosi

Chair of Regional Leadership Council Steny Hoyer

Correction: An earlier release erroneously included Edina Council Member Julie Risser. As a non-partisan official, Council Member Risser does not endorse candidates.